What first training or experience?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by zee, Jul 6, 2005.

1. zee

zee New Member

Hi all,

First off could I say a big thank you for the site you are running here, I've been having a read through over the last few days and there's some really useful info- cheers.

My troubles, like the many others, is to do with training- yawn. I'm really anxious to get started on the right foot.

I've been researching different ways in which to get entry in Networking and have spoken to many different organistions that claim to be able to help me achieve this.

To cut a long story short my options are:

Cerco- purely for the on-the-job work experience starting very low down on the ladder and seeing where that gets me.

Or going straight for the vendor qualifications (A+, N+, MSCA, CCNA and 3 months work placement- £5000 w/exams)?

As you may have gussed I have no prior experience in Networking (but have worked with PC's/ Microsoft Office etc for a number of years).

If anyone out there has had experience or knows of a training organisation in the London area I would be grateful if you could let me know (PM me if you prefer).

Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Zee.

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

I can't talk about any of the training organizations in your neck of the woods since I live in the U.S. and I don't know a thing about Cerco. I don't considered the A+ or Network+ to be too Windows driven, although it is biased in that direction, so I guess you might not think of them as "vendor neutral".

I consider the A+ and Network+ material to be pretty much a foundation for anything else you might want to do in computer networking, especially if you have no prior experience. It's not the certifications themselves that I consider "magic", but the material and knowledge they represent is essential. If you don't know the basics, you won't have anything to build on.