What CV should be like for an entry level IT job ?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by cBooM, Mar 8, 2015.

1. cBooM

cBooM Bit Poster

Hello, guys!
    As I was saying in my first post (can't link yet), I graduated in Law and now I want to get into IT and get an entry level job position. I have been applying for a while, but unfortunately unsuccessful.

Probably, as any desperate person who is searching for a job, I changed my CV hundred of times, eventually adding beautiful stories and "experience" I don't really possess :( I know it's not good to do so, but I did it only to get interview appointments, where I could prove further that I could do that particular job. Now, after seeing that this doesn't help, I want to ask you what am I doing wrong and what approach should I take in order to get any entry level job?

I have practice in PC troubleshooting and web developing, but this was always just my hobby and I have never worked officially for somebody. In fact, the only official work I have on my history is in the hospitality field: in USA as a runner (been there for 4 months with Work and Travel) and now as a bartender :( and, to be honest, I really hate it! I just know it is not for me ..

Anyway, "creating" my CV I wrote that I have been working as a Court Clerk, because I have been helping my dad (audio-typing and writing cases for him) for almost 8 years and I really know all the duties of an court clerk and I can do them .. Also, I wrote that I have been working as a Customer Service Advisor because I am really fond of technology and gadgets and I know that customer service experience is really important for employers ..

I am really ashamed that I have to lie, but I just couldn't see any other chance to get an interview appointment.