what course to choose

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by mrbones26, Apr 2, 2009.

1. mrbones26

mrbones26 New Member

hi all , im looking to get out of the printing industry and into IT after all im always on the PC, i was going to go straight for the MCSE with advent but after knowing a 5 step salesman when i see one (another path i took but thats another story) and doing my homework ive found its a bit intermeddiate for a begginner and after looking at forums on here i have come to realise that a Comptia A+ is the step before , thank god for this site cos i nearly blew 5 grand with them lot.I only have home experience messing with my own computer fixing it installing software and hardware burning disc ect so im not a complete novice but was wondering if i should do the IT Systems Support Technician before or is the comptia ok to go for straight away , just any advice on where to go , where to start training providers wou;d be appreaciated , thanks alot guys n girls hope to here from you soon:D

Certifications: gcse
    WIP: comptia =+A,mcse
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

The A+ will be fine to go for. You can self study, that is getting the books learning and practicing yourself and then taking the two exams needed to pass. No need to buy a course.

Now the A+ is changing to the new version at the end of July so if you want to get it out of the way by then you will need compTIA A+ all in one exam guide 6th edition by Mike Meyeres and PC Technician street smarts by James Pyles.

To take the exams you register with pearsonvue.com and you will find your nearest test center on their. You pay through pearson vue you can either pay for the two exams costing £111+vat each or you can visit gracetechsolutions.com and just pay £107 each for discount voucher codes you then enter these codes into the pearsonvue payment section instead of your debit card.