What could count as experience

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Addski, Mar 15, 2006.

1. Addski

Addski New Member

Hello All, this is my first post so i'll give a brief description of what i'm here for. Sorry if its a bore :sleeping

I'm looking for a career change away from what i've been doing for the last 10 years which is working for a small company dealing with accounts, design and marketing. In this time i've played around with computers quite a bit, i've put together about 10, set up LAN for 5 - 10 workstations in the office and dealt with any IT problems that may have arised in that time. I realised that due a lack of career prospects I had to move on and decided that I would look to move towards a career in IT (starting at helpdesk level), something I genuinely enjoy doing. I'm currently studying for A+ and will progress on to N+ hoping to complete both before D-day which will be around Feb - March next year.

Now for the question, how much will my previous experience as little as it may be count towards me getting a job? I've noticed that a lot of employers are looking for people with 2 years experience and its a little worrying.

2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

You have experience of small business IT support in your current role, therefore, as far as I'm concerned you already have you foot in the door.

IT may not be your primary role in your organisation, but mention that it is a secondary role and you will be ok.

To any prospective employers you need to mention that you are responsible for your existing companies IT, and mention what you have experience of doing.

Built 5 PC's? - You have just planned and implemented a desktop rollout for your company.

Welcome to CF! :biggrin

3. Pete01

Pete01 Kilobyte Poster

Yes not to mention 'project managed' the rollout as well.

Certifications: MCP (NT4) CCNA
    WIP: 70-669, Learning MSI packaging
  4. Addski

Addski New Member