Web Build for beginners

Discussion in 'Web Development & Web Hosting' started by camadi46, Apr 1, 2011.

1. camadi46

camadi46 Bit Poster

I am trying to build a website, I have no knowledge of programming or scripting. I am looking for a easy-to-use web builder, if there is such a thing. I only need a few pages, as I want to start small with clothing sales and if it picks up, take on something professional. Any advice much appreciated.
    Thanks a lot.

Certifications: A+, MCP
    WIP: 70-680
  2. alexdc12

alexdc12 Kilobyte Poster

search google for basic html you will pick it up in no time. some free hosts offer a web builder for free.
    or use ebay :)

Certifications: GNVQ Advanced IT, CompTIA A+, CompTIA N+, 70-680
    WIP: 70-685, ITIL v3 Foundation
  3. camadi46

camadi46 Bit Poster

Thanks Alexdc12, I shall try that. I had no idea there are free web hosts offering that.

4. alexdc12

alexdc12 Kilobyte Poster

many do but they are not much kop i personally dont think. you can use microsoft frontpage if u have it. or publisher

5. alexdc12

alexdc12 Kilobyte Poster

for my website i used something called wordpress, took a bit og getting used to at first buts its a clean look
    google wordpress

my site is ac-itsupport.co.uk

you will however need a host that supports the installation of wordpress

6. rhyscooper

rhyscooper New Member

It sounds like you need a Content Management System (CMS). There are many available online, Drupal and DotNetNuke spring to mind. As with the others you will need to get a hosting provider that supports your chosen CMS.

A CMS will allow you to update content using a WYSIWYG (What you see is what you get) interface which is ideal if you don't know any html / coding etc. I've not used DotNetNuke, but Drupal allows you to choose modules (created by other users) to do certain things e.g. event calendar, user registration, maybe even a shopping cart, which you can place on your pages.

http://drupal.org/

Hope this helps.