VMware Vsphere 4.1 Lab Setup

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by onoski, Feb 1, 2011.

1. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Hi all,

I haven't posted on here for a while as I have been busy with MS exams and glad to also say am now officially MCSE 2003 security and messaging. It's taken me two years to achieve this cert with lots of failures but kept on going for it and it's finally in the bag.

Well back to the point of this thread which is VMware lab setup as I currently own an HP Proliant ML115 G5, quad core 4Gb runnig ESXi 4 hosting 4 VM's.

At work I have been working with VMware ESX and ESXi 4 for over six months now, virtual centre and VMware Vsphere 4 and HP Proliant 460 blade servers in a HP c7000 chasis enclosure.

In the next few months we'd be upgrading our old rusty exchange server 2000 to exchange server 2007 in a virtual environment. Hence its an appropriate time for me to upgrade my home lab and currently looking at a budget of £350.

The £350 would include an AMD AM3 processor quad core at 3.2Ghz, 16Gb of Ram split amongs custom built whitebox, Gigabyte motherboard and HP Proliant ML115, running VMware ESXi 4 and 4.1.

I also have pentium dual core HP DC7800 small form factor pc and thinking of using this as a cheap storage box running FreeNas.

Well guys and gals, thats it for now and feel free to contribute and yes it's a small budget but it would get the job done in terms of carrying out hands on lab work. Cheerio and keep on hussling:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

You are MCSE security and messaging? Good work! :biggrin

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster