VB.net stuff

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by zxspectrum, Sep 13, 2006.

1. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

OK folks for a college assignment i have to make a percentage calculator, ive just managed to make a maths one with add , subtract, divide and multiply etc. Now how do i get it so i can just work out 2, 3 and 4 percents, can i just add % into one of the liones of code or is there another way to fo this ?? Please help im not very good at thi:oops: s lol

Certifications: BSc computing and information systems
    WIP: 70-680
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I don't know VB.net, but in most programming languages the '%' character in an expression means modulo.

The expression to get a percentage value would be the digits pressed divided by 100.

So to get 2% of 1000, multiply 1000 by 2/100 - i.e. 0.02

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. zxspectrum

Cheers for that Harry, tho i dont spose you would know how to put that into code would you ??

4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Er - subtotal_var * (entered_var / 100)
    Or something like that.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  5. zxspectrum

Harry , a million thanks ill give that a whirl now. Dont spose you want to be my tutor do you , you may as well be, you have been much more use than the one ive got lol

6. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Careful he might charge you £50 an hour for the privilege :D

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  7. zxspectrum

Right guys my head is up my bum and tho that may seem a neat trick, believe me its not and its also dark and smelly lol

Im still struggling with this program.

Ive sort of tried to modify a code from a book which is as follows
    label3.text = numbers add to: " & str(val(textbox1.tex = val(textbox2.text))