using a virtual server

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by steve_p1981, Mar 7, 2011.

1. steve_p1981

steve_p1981 Byte Poster

ok i have a copy of virtual pc 2007 and i also have an evaluation copy of server 2003. I have installed server 2003 and set it up as a general server as per the window that pops up when you fisrt log into the software.
    I have installed active directory and added a couple of users and groups.
    now i'm stuck.
    how do i get my virtual pc (running xp professional) to log in to the server. do i have to install server 2003 onto the client machine too as when i installed it, it told me i had 5 licences.
    This is my first go at a network (virtual or otherwise) so any tips would be good as i'm studying for my a+ and this isn't covered.
    cheers guys

Certifications: A+ 220-701 and 220-702
    WIP: none at current but poss 70-680 soon
  2. zebulebu

zebulebu Terabyte Poster

You have to join the PC to the domain. If it fails, it will probably be because of DNS settings on your domain controller, or virtual networking settings on your VPC. To join the domain, right click 'My Computer', go to 'Properties', then select the 'Computer Name' tab and click the button called 'Change' next to "To rename this computer or join a domain". Then, provide a domain admin account and password when prompted. If all is well, after a few seconds you'll receive a 'Welcome to ____ domain" message, click OK twice and then reboot when prompted. After the vm restarts, you'll be able to log into the domain.

Certifications: A few
    WIP: None - f*** 'em
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

what he said works ^

But am I seeing this correctly (I am very tired btw) you have a machine running server and then have virtual pc?

You install virtual pc then use virtual pc to create a virtual hard disk then on the virtual hard disk you install server 2003 onto it