Unsure of what my salary expectations should be

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by KJK1LL3R, Jan 21, 2013.

1. KJK1LL3R

KJK1LL3R New Member

Hey guys,

I am applying for a Junior IT Assistant role with a successful construction company in Northern Ireland and they have asked me what my salary expectations are and I am unsure. I have 10 GCSE's, 3 A-Levels and I recently graduated with a 2:1 in Computer Science. I am also currently doing a part-time CompTIA A+ course. I worked for a year before starting university as a temp admin assistant earning about £200 a week and I also worked in an IT Technical Support role at a university department as part of my student placement year earning around £250 a week. Since graduating in the summer I have been providing voluntary IT Support at my local secondary school whilst I try to find an ICT Technical Support job. Ideally I would like a job as an IT Technician at a school or university but as I am only starting out I am happy with any type of IT support experience although I would prefer to avoid working in a call centre environment or being a field technician that needs to travel. Can I get some advice on how I can figure out what are realistic salary expectations?

2. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

Given what you have said, I would expect you to want between £18-£21k for your first role with a company and then to move up the ranks.

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  3. RichyV

RichyV Megabyte Poster

Well, you could always try just answering the question in your head...

What are your salary expectations?

Minimum wage is, what? Around £12k a year in the UK. So how much more would you expect for the 1st rung on the ladder?
    Remember it's not all just about the pay - there are other things too; will they pay for training, what are the prospects of promotion; how many paid holidays do they offer? Etc.........