Uni and certs...

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by DrewDude, Jan 15, 2009.

1. DrewDude

DrewDude New Member

Hey, i applied for an academy called 'Zenos' in December, if your not familiar with it:

Its an academy offering a 5 month intesive course followed by a 12 month work & training course.
    At the end of the course you should have achived: MCDST, Adv. Diploma for IT Practitioners, N+, MCSA, Adv. Apprenticeship Cert.

Anyway, im not sure if ive used the correct section of the forum, but my question is:

Is there any way of entering university with the above qualifications?

btw. : Im currently in my last year at school, thats why ive applied for Zenos now as i dont want to go the college root for various personal reasons.

Thx

Certifications: AN2, ECDL
  2. mattstevenson

mattstevenson Byte Poster

Firstly, what sort of guarantee do you have that you'll have got *any* of those certifications? Secondly, I doubt that a university would recognise any of the above until you were a 'mature student' with years of experience and several more.

How much did you spend on this, by the way?

Edit: Forgive my cynicism, I've looked at the site, and the programme they offer seems to be reasonably sound. However, I think that it's going to be a really steep climb from 0 - *all of those certs*. Really steep. I can see you maybe getting the MCDST, but not MCSA. The others tend not to be as recognised as Microsoft/CompTIA at entry level.

Good luck and all, but try to keep a realistic view of what you're going to come out with. Also, grab yourself some books or such, and start studying some of the A+ material. It'll give you what you need to 'hit the ground running'.

Certifications: Triple A+. Network+, CCENT
    WIP: MCP, ICND2, Sec+
  3. DrewDude

DrewDude New Member

hmm..
    1) i never said id done the qualifications, i only stated the qualifications that i could possibly gain throughout the course.