Uni and Cert`s

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by decrash, Sep 20, 2012.

1. decrash

decrash New Member

I am currently studying Computer Networks in uni part time, still have 2 years left, 4,5 years in total. Should I start thinking about certifications too ? As i was thinking that they will get old by the time I will start looking for job ? I already have MCSA + messaging, but that was back 1 year ago and it is already useless as most of the companies are running server 2008 . Thanks

drum_dude likes this.
  2. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

I would say remain focused on your university course as if you put your mind on too many different projects then your university course may take a backseat.

I presume you are wanting to get more in to Networks than the Technician technical sides?

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
    drum_dude likes this.
  3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

A subject that has been covered a thousand times before on here.

As has already been suggested stick in wth your Uni. As a long term option it will undoubtedly be more valuable to you than certs.

You have already mentioned that you have the MCSA+ Messaging, and although this may be in 2003 it will still show to employers that you have the skills and ability to learn the technology as and when required. It could also help to show them that you have an understanding of what is really required it todays market place skill set and set you apart from other candidates who just have a degree expecting to walk into a job.

drum_dude likes this.
  4. JK2447
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

JK2447 Petabyte Poster Administrator Premium Member