unhappy man

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by shadowwebs, May 9, 2012.

1. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

So here's how it goes... I have been the interim helpdesk supervisor for the last 9 months, the job comes up to become permanent and I have to apply, within the job requirements are many things which are not even required to do the job, but you know how these things go.

So I send in my application and find out a week later it's been rejected as I am not ITIL certified.

Surely there is something wrong with this as I have been doing the job successfully without problems for 9 months, writing system downs and other procedures which have all been approved to be sent to the team.

not a happy man

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  2. RichyV

RichyV Megabyte Poster

Yes, I'd say it was a pre-req for this kind of job.

I was able to 'fill-in' here when we were between supervisors, but was unable (and unwilling anyway...) to apply for the full-time post due to the lack of ITIL.
    I have thought about taking it but want to keep as technical role as I can and not start project-overview stuff instead.

Certifications: B.Sc.(Hons), MBCS. MCP (271,272), MCDST, MCTS (680), MCITP:EDST7, MCSA:WIN7, MCPS, MCNPS
    WIP: 70-686, then onto MCSE: Desktop Infrastructure via MCSA: Server 2012...
  3. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Don't mistake ITIL with Prince2 as ITIL is not project related but actually service related. Not being ITIL certified will definitely start to be a problem for people in larger organisations as they start to adopt the framework for their environments.