Unbelievable!!

Discussion in 'A+' started by fireblade179, Oct 14, 2008.

1. fireblade179

fireblade179 New Member

Hi all,

I know this might sound like the ranting and raving of a guy with a battered ego, but I seriously don't know what to do about the exams.

I've studied Mike Meyers AIO fully, then when I reached the end, I studied it again. Then I studied his Passport twice, and revised using the AIO book again. I've read some of the Dummies guide but stopped halfway through because the information seemed somewhat basic. Oh, then there were a few hundred practice questions as well.

Anyway, I took both the 601 and 602 exams today - passed the 601 with 775/900, but in the lovely little 602exam, i only recognised maybe half of the questions from the material I've studied. It's hard to give you examples of questions because I hardly remember any of them, since I'd never encountered any information about them before in the first place. One example I can remember:

Removed to prevent a breach of the NDA

Without giving the nature of the botched upgrade, how am I supposed to know? As many common upgrades are Memory, I could say that the problem lies with the new DIMM, or the technician doing the upgrade might have damaged the motherboard without proper ESD protection. Heck, it could even be one of the Peripherals malfunctioning, causing the error. Without knowing the beep codes or the nature of the error, HOW am I supposed to diagnose the problem?

Then there was something like,

Removed

I appreciate that bad ram causes reboots, but how am I supposed to diagnose bad ram by just looking at it? Apparently, the answer is that there have been burst capacitors causing this problem, but I wouldn't have known that unless I had googled it just now. Again, no study material mentioned it.