Triangle-Number Function. (C++)

Discussion in 'Scripting & Programming' started by aelonski, Mar 22, 2007.

1. aelonski

aelonski New Member

I'm very new to programming and am in a bit of a pickle with this.

My triangle function is supposed to total all the whole numbers from 1 to the number specified, like this;

triangle(5) = 1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 5 = 15

And then output the number 15.

Here my code;

Code:
    #include <iostream>
    using namespace std;

int main() {
        int n;
        cout << "Enter a number and press ENTER. ";
        cin >> n;
        cout << "Function returned " << triangle(n);
        return 0;
    }

int triangle(int n) {
        int i;
        int sum = 0;
        for (i = i; i <= n; i++)
        sum = sum + i;
        return sum;
    }
    When I run it and enter, for example the integer, 4. I get;

Function returned -1498971578

Or if I enter, for example the integer, 10. I get;

Function returned -1498971533

I'm sure I have done something stupid, but the number being returned don't make any sense to me at all.

Thank you for reading my post.

WIP: A+
  2. Mathematix

Mathematix Megabyte Poster

You've initialised int i with what is currently contained at that memory location (for(i = i...), which is garbage, instead of initialising it with zero.

hth

Certifications: BSc(Hons) Comp Sci, BCS Award of Merit
    WIP: Not doing certs. Computer geek.
  3. aelonski

aelonski New Member

Ah, I can't believe I didn't notice that. I must have checked through it 10 times. :blink

I've initialized it with 1. All is working. Thanks.

4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Rep given where it's deserved 8)

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  5. Tom3

Tom3 New Member

Hi.
    The nth triangular number is given by:

1/2 n ( n + 1 )

so you don't need looped code- just pop in the formula.

Regards, Tom3

PS don't forget to use float instead of int because of the 1/2 !!

Certifications: none