training questions

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by piprumsey, Dec 14, 2006.

1. piprumsey

piprumsey New Member

hi guys am looking to move into a IT career, hopefully something like computer maintenance and was wondering what you guys think i should do.

i have no real computer experience, just the usual home stuff. i have never even made or fixed a computer but i like the idea. my brothers are in computer jobs (networking) but they both got their qualifications at college and ive now got a job that works on shifts mornings and nights so dont have the time to go to college.

i tried computeach and the guy came round but it was quite expensive and i didnt here from them again. ive read about microsoft qualifications but i just want to start from the bottom and get a entry level job. i know that i cant walk into a £25 grand job. so any advice would be grateful thanx

2. Cockles

Cockles Megabyte Poster

Hi mate. Welcome to CF

If you do a search around the forum, you will find many people (including myself) in the same boat as you, and thanks to good advice from people here, a lot of people (again, including myself) have adopted the self study route.

If you want to go into maintenance, the CompTIA A+ certification is always a good start, and with the right study guide, an old PC to tinker with and some determination, there is no reason why you can't self-study and get on your way to full certification, and all for a damn site cheaper than a training provider

The A+ is aimed at entry-level people and with bagloads of help and advice here, you can't really go wrong

Cheers

Certifications: None
    WIP: Trying to find my car keys
  3. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Hi Pip, this begs the question - What do your brothers think?

After all, they know you, whereas we don't. We can only offer generalised advice which is highly dependant on the quality of information that is posted.