Training advice sought

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by LOZIT, Jan 5, 2009.

1. LOZIT

LOZIT New Member

First of all I am new to the forum and wasn't too sure whether to tag onto the MCSE debate or not anyway
    apologies to the moderators if this isn't in the right section.

I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me.

What is the order and best way to train to get into the IT industry. I have been looking into CCNA certification. My IT level is such that some years ago I built my own computer so I have some knowledge at a basic level.

First of all would it be beneficial/necessary to complete the Comptia A+ and the Network+ before I moving onto CCNA. Also I recently attended a free CCNA one day visit to a training centre where I was advised that at some stage it would be good to complete the MCSE to add to my skill base.

In short could anyone advise me as to the order to do things to have the best chance to get an entry level IT position. I have read the MCSE paper debate strand so would assume that it would be better to get on the IT ladder at a lower level before attempting this qualification.

I appreciate that with the current credit crunch situation that securing a position in the IT industry will be difficult. At the moment my current job is fairly safe so I would be looking to spend the next 1 to 2 years training but as I am 42 at the moment it would mean that I would be 43/44 by the time I believe the job market will pick up. I am worried that I may be too old for the this industry by this time.
    Any opinions on the state of the IT industry would also be appreciated.

Advice appreciated

2. warrmr

warrmr Byte Poster

I would say yes do the A+ it should be quite an easy one to pass if you have been around computers and spent alot of time tinkering.

Then i would look at a helpdesk role if you can afford to take a huge pay cut im assuming your on more than £15k-18k at the moment.