Total Beginner needing help.

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by jkmoreton, Aug 12, 2010.

1. jkmoreton

jkmoreton Bit Poster

hi everyone, this is my first post so please be gentle. im looking at getting into networking so have been looking round at college courses and the only one i can find locally (nottingham) is the CCNA. I got the feeling comptia a+ is better place to start but the only courses i can find for this are day time ones and i work full time so would not be able to manage it. Could i do th ccna then use home study for the comptia a+ cert would the ccna have gained me enough knowledge to then move to comptia using home/online study?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Many thanks
    Jake.:)

Certifications: none
    WIP: ccna
  2. soundian

soundian Gigabyte Poster

The CCNA is a complex cert designed for professionals who use Cisco kit day to day.
    The A+ is a basic cert covering the fundamentals of hardware and peripherals.
    I'd advise self-studying the A+ while looking for help-desk/first-line/trainee roles. Once you have a good foundation you can look at the CompTIA Network+ to give you a stronger foundation in networking.

Certifications: A+, N+,MCDST,MCTS(680), MCP(270, 271, 272), ITILv3F, CCENT
    WIP: Knuckling down at my new job
  3. jkmoreton

jkmoreton Bit Poster

many thanks for that soundian. So you recommend not doing the ccna and self studying A+, is there any books or guides you recommend?
    many thanks again.

4. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

5. Beerbaron

Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

If you are looking to do a CCNA it might be worth doing the Network + first as this will give you a wide knowledge of networking.

Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  6. jkmoreton

jkmoreton Bit Poster