To Be or Not To be...MCDST????

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Bubbaflex, Feb 13, 2006.

1. Bubbaflex

Bubbaflex New Member

Hello all!!!

Im new to the forum so please be gentle!!! lol.

Im looking at a career change to IT and hoping to get some friendly advice? I've always been hooked on IT but never choose it as a career (my big regret) :(

I have plenty of Sales/Customer Service experience but i have no industry experience in IT. Im determined to get my foot in the door for a career change....so I've seriously considered doing the MCDST cert and the A+ for good measures, is that a good starting point? but i dont khow how to tackle the experinece issue??

Can someone please advice me or point in the right direction.....i appreciate any help....thnx

Certifications: .......Nothing worth mentioning!!!
    WIP: MCDST,MCSA
  2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings, Bubbaflex. Welcome to CertForums. The A+ cert is always a good starting point. Beyond that, it really depends on what part of IT seems to call to you. If you aren't sure, sticking to the basics is a good idea. Welcome aboard. :)

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  3. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Welcome to CF! :biggrin

Firstly, yes I'd say that the certs that you have mentioned would be good starting points towards a support role. I'd also throw in there the Network+.

Secondly, the experience problem, do you use Windows XP? do you have experience of other OS's? Ever installed a new hard disk into a computer? Ever helped someone else to fix a problem? If the answer to the above questions is yes then you are already on the right track to study for the above certs.

8)

4. Bubbaflex

Bubbaflex New Member

Hi Tripwire45,