To A+ or not to A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by mwahahaha, Mar 31, 2010.

1. mwahahaha

mwahahaha Bit Poster

Hi Everyone,

Newbie to the forums here but I have been working at various levels of tech support for just over 5 years. I've realised it's about time I concentrated on getting a few professional qualifications to demonstrate and improve my skill levels.

My boss is keen on me to do the 70-270 XP Exam mainly for company Microsoft partner points etc but I'm considering maybe starting with an A+

Do people think an A+ is still relevant for someone who isn't starting out in IT? Would I be better just plodding on with the MS exam track? In the future I'd like to try a bit of Cisco training (Something I currently know nothing about) and I read in a few places that the A+ and then N+ are very good introductions to the Cisco learning track - anyone here have any opinions on that?

Work are paying for the exams so it's just the book/web training outlay I'd have to find so what do people think?

Cheers,
    Dan

Certifications: ITIL Foundation, MCP (70-270 Pass - 860)
    WIP: Not sure yet
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

You should do A+,N+ and MCDST and no further until you are experienced enough.

The 70-270 isn't for begginners.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. gosh1976

gosh1976 Kilobyte Poster

is 5 years experience a beginner?!? guess it might depend on the type of experience!

I would certainly do the A+ and Net+ if they will pay for those exams. With 5 years experience it should be easy enough to sit those exams in time to get the certifications for life.

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCDST, CCENT, MCTS: Win 7 Configuring, CCNA
  4. mwahahaha

mwahahaha Bit Poster