Tips on creating a CV

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Enigma101, May 24, 2010.

1. Enigma101

Enigma101 Bit Poster

I am in the process of looking for another job, however i am not very experienced when it comes to writing a CV and would like to hear your tips on information to include and Layout.
    Got a rough idea of the information i need to include but have no clue about the layout :eek:

Certifications: 70-270 70-290
    WIP: MCSE
  2. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Have a look at two of my cv's, the #2 document is the one I use now, whilst the first cv was the one I used for a number of years previously.

That's the kind of format and layout that works well with agencies etc.

Certifications: CNA | CNE | CCNA | MCP | MCP+I | MCSE NT4 | MCSA 2003 | Security+ | MCSA:S 2003 | MCSE:S 2003 | MCTS:SCCM 2007 | MCTS:Win 7 | MCITP:EDA7 | MCITP:SA | MCITP:EA | MCTS:Hyper-V | VCP 4 | ITIL v3 Foundation | VCP 5 DCV | VCP 5 Cloud | VCP6 NV | VCP6 DCV | VCAP 5.5 DCA
  3. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Impressive CV and experience profile, thanks for sharing:)

Certifications: MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003 Messaging, MCP, HNC BIT, ITIL Fdn V3, SDI Fdn, VCP 4 & VCP 5
    WIP: MCTS:70-236, PowerShell
  4. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Some advice as I was just asked for it.

If you like the idea of my cv (and I would go for the Simon Blank.doc over the Simon Blank 2.doc as thats more consultant based) is to expand on the previous experiences. As time goes by and you have more experience to call upon you then reduce the amount of detail you have on your older jobs until you have 2 lines for example.