time to get some certs..

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by steph746, Jun 1, 2012.

1. steph746

steph746 Bit Poster

I've been working in Help Desk Support for about 7 years and I would like to actually get some certifications to further my career and put on my resume. I don't want to do Help Desk forever and I'm not sure exactly what path to take.

I'm a bit overwhelmed by all of the certifications out there. It seems that perhaps an MCSA is a good first step and then MCSE? What about certs like CCNA or COMPTia? Basically I'm not sure where to start.

Many years back I got an A+ certification and an MCP (Windows NT though) :)

Thanks for any advice you can give me to make myself more marketable.

2. Jiser

Jiser Kilobyte Poster

Depends what you work in and the range of technology you work in. Ill assume it will be Windows / Server 2008 and with seven years you will pretty experianced.

I would certify in what you do firstly by getting 70-680 / 685 leading to MS Enterprise Desktop Support Tech. From here depending on if you want to go down networking or ms route you could do either MCSA Server 2008 or CCNA. Perhaps both.

For the 'softer' skills I would look at ITIL Foundation first then perhaps Prince 2 Foundation if your from the UK and want to get involved in projects. You could probably do either of these exams with a week or two of self study.

Last edited: Jun 1, 2012
    Certifications: BSc (Hons), PGc, MCTS:Win 7, MCSA W7/MCITP EDST, ITIL Foundation, Prince 2 Foundation, C&G: Web Design, MOS 07: Excel, Word, Powerpoint, Outlook.
  3. steph746

steph746 Bit Poster

Thank you for your reply. I thought the help desk certification was discontinued and only covered XP? Does it make sense to pursue that or does just going for MCSA seem better.

I like your suggestions about project management certifications as well. I'm currently based in Japan but maybe moving to the States.