Thrown in the deep end, where should I start?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by danny13d, Nov 9, 2011.

1. danny13d

danny13d New Member

Hello Guys,

Basically I have recently been given a new job at my company (last week) as the IT administrator. The guy before me has left now and I have no experience or qualifications for this type of position, not sure why my company has decided to fill the role like this but hey I get paid more because of it.

We have support for all our systems here so nothing should go wrong while im learning.

It isnt the biggest network, around 50 computers in the company. Using SQL server 2008, Linux mail sever and Windows server 2008.

I was hoping someone would be able to explain the best path for me to go about learning the skills I need for this role.

Thanks in advance.

2. Coupe2T

Coupe2T Megabyte Poster

Depends what your current skill set is like? They picked you for a reason I assume?

Microsoft do courses/exams for Server OS's, maybe do one of them, SQL courses can also be got as can Linux courses. If you use all 3 of those systems a lot then look for relevant courses.

It also depends how involved you will need to get with each system. You could always ask the current support staff for the various systems to give you the low down and show you the basics and what you need to do etc so at least you have some base knowledge to work from?

What does your role actually entail? What are your responsibilities and what is expected of you personally if you already have support teams for all of the applications?

Certifications: ECDL, Does that Count!?!
  3. danny13d

danny13d New Member

I have no skills in IT or experience, my bosses words were just he sees potential.

When I said support I meant we currently pay external companies to resolve any issues we have with our systems, so unfortunately they are not available to provide me with any advice.