This sucks...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Balian, Feb 2, 2006.

1. Balian

Balian Bit Poster

:(

This is linked to other posts made about a similar topic. I'll set the scene.

I've been doing an MCP course for a few months now, and started applying for jobs. Nothing unusual in that, however, I'm 29 now, and have done maybe 5 or 6 jobs since the age of 20, and have been told by several of the companies I've applied for that even though I've an HND in IT, even though I'm doing current training by way of an MCP, and ec Royal Navy for over 4 years, that "you've had too many jobs". What am I meant to do? Change my CV?

Through my 20's, I travelled shed loads, to fund it I did customer service jobs for 6 to 9 months here and there, picked up a little experience as I went along. I wouldn't have changed that for anything, and I did serve for almost half a decade in the RN. Being selective is one thing, however, for an industry that is supposedly short of people to the tune of 200,000+ people per year (figures quoted in Computer Weekly around 3 months ago), this seems ludicrous to me. Sorry for ranting guys, but I'm starting to think that unless you as an individual went straight into IT after uni/school, or had the same job for many years, and then transferred you can forget it. *Sighs*.....

Like I said, don't mean to rant, just starting to think that this whole "getting into IT" thing is a waste of time. :huh

Certifications: HND IT, A+
    WIP: MCP 2003 Server, XP Professional
  2. _omni_

_omni_ Megabyte Poster

i think it just takes perseverance, sooner or later you will break in if you don't give up.
    btw what certs or mcp thingies do you have?

Certifications: MCSE 2003, MCSA:M
  3. Balian

Balian Bit Poster

I'm doing XP professional, Windows 2003 Server, I've done the basics like A+ which came with the course too, and I've an HND in IT.