Thinking of going for CCNA

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by laserguy, Jun 26, 2007.

1. laserguy

laserguy New Member

Hi!

I am due to finish my post grad laser physics masters this sept. I have realised that the IT industry is where I want my career. My friend finished his degree last year and has since started a CCNA at college. He has told me that self certification is definitely a valid method of entry and I am most interested in this. This idea definitely seems mirrored on this forum.

I have been fiddling with computers for the past 13 years or so since I was a nipper and I am pretty certain that, like my last job, I will find an IT role in a company. I would like to be able to command a decent salary from IT. It seems Cisco is the best route to this... (purely judging the renumeration from sites advertising Cisco jobs).

I am proficient in VBA and can code in C. I cant code in C++ but i dont think this matters for Cisco.

My main question is.... how long would you expect to prepare for the CCNA if you self studied full time? I know everyone is different but I would like a rough idea.

Looking through the Cisco.com CCNA webpage I am confident I understand what all the terms mean. I am tempted to get a couple of routers and a switch pretty soon to start messing around.

Another question that my friend didnt answer to well for me... He recommends Boson Netsim to practice on virtual networks. What i didnt quite understand is whether to buy routers and a switch as well as netsim or whether netsim replaces the need to buy any phyical harware~?

Many thanks for you help

2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

I would go for the Comptia A+ then the N+ then work yourself upto the CCNA. I made the mistake of trying to make the CCNA my first cert, put me off from IT for a couple of months.

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. Headache

Headache Gigabyte Poster