That 1st job

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by sendalot, Apr 12, 2013.

1. sendalot

sendalot Nibble Poster

So, I'm a fresh college graduate with Network+ and CCNA.

What can I do to land a first real job?

I shouldn't bother going into concentrations for Cisco stuffs since I have 0 experience?

What would help now? A+? MTA?

Thanks.

Certifications: Many
  2. shadowwebs

shadowwebs Megabyte Poster

I would suggest going for the A+ 220-801/2 series

Certifications: compTIA A+, Apple Certified Technical Coordinator 10.10 (OS X Yosemite, Server and Support)
  3. SimonD
    Honorary Member

SimonD Terabyte Poster

Drop the CCNA and CCENT from your CV!!!

I really can't believe this, you have been told time after time that you have too much in the way of certifications, the CCNA is not an entry level cert and to be honest neither is any kind of Project Management certification, yet again you're wondering why you're not getting a job when you're new to the industry.

Take it from someone who has some experience and knowledge when it comes to it, I wouldn't hire someone new to the industry if they had a CCNA and no commercial experience, simple as. Adding more certifications to your CV won't do it but taking some off it may just help you.

For the love of all things technical, stop doing certs, get some real world experience and come back to the certification track in a couple of years because honestly if you carry on this route then the only thing you're going to do is not get a role and get more pissed off and try and get more certs and do yourself more harm than good.

Try to understand, certifications aren't there to get into IT, they are there to show your commercial experience and to back that experience up with the certification, stop trying to bypass the system and do things properly. Honestly I am going blue in the face here trying to tell you it so maybe I need to be a little more clear.

STOP GETTING MORE CERTS, START GETTING MORE EXPERIENCE.