Subnet Mask Cheat Sheet

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by tripwire45, Nov 28, 2005.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Thought some of you might need this.

http://krow.net/dict/subnet.html

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Nice find Trip! :thumbleft

3. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

thanks Trip :thumbleft

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  4. ffreeloader

ffreeloader Terabyte Poster

This is an area where I think a cheat sheet does more harm than good for a newbie. A newbie needs to do the math to figure this out manually every time they do it so the concepts really stick in their heads.

The training provider I studied with for a while handed out cheat sheets and the guys who always relied on the cheat sheets really struggled understanding subnetting. They also struggled on the tests because they had always relied on cheat sheets to do the work for them, and they couldn't take a cheat sheet into the exam room so they were lost when it came to figuring things out then.

It is almost as quick to use binary math as it is to use a cheat sheet. The number of valid IP addresses in a /24 subnet is 2 to the 8th power -2. It's really easy to remember because /24 is a Class C address. That means it uses 8 bits and 2 to the 8th is 256. Subtract 2 and you have 254 valid addresses.

A /26 subnet is 2 to the 10th power minus 2. That 1022.

Say you are breaking up a Class C subnet. If you use a /30 subnet you have 2 to the second power minus 2 valid IP addresses per subnet. You also have 2 to 6th power subnets because 8 - 2 = 6. That's 64 subnets with 4 valid IP's per subnet. It's possible to break out any combination of subnets using this method, even if you're subnetting a subnet of a larger whole.

If you're using RIP v1 for your routing protocol then you have 2 to the 6th power -2 subnets per Class C address space.