Studying Software Development Fundamentals 98-361

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by lynnietjuh, Jun 24, 2012.

1. lynnietjuh

lynnietjuh New Member

Hi guys, I'm new to programming and studying Software Development Fundamentals. Do any of you know anything about C#?

The assessment says to write the following code snippet:
    int n = 20;
    int d = n++ + 5;
    What will be the value of d after this code snippet is executed?
    a) 25
    b) 26
    c) 27
    d) 28

How do i work this out?

2. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Err, learn basic C# syntax ? :blink

Learn about unary operators, binary operators, operator precedence, variable declaration and assignment ?

Failing that code the program and debug it and see what actually happens and understand why, maybe even go and look at the CIL generated by the compiler.

Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  3. lynnietjuh

lynnietjuh New Member

I've learned all about unary operators, ternary operators, operator precedence, variable declaration and assignment in the latest chapter of my textbook. I still don't get how to work this out?

4. dmarsh

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

1. Why don't you get it ?

2. What answers do you think are probable and why ?

5. lynnietjuh

lynnietjuh New Member

I don't get it because i have absolutely no idea how to work this out. Do i need to apply this code snippet to a template in MS Visual C# in order to get the answer?

6. dmarsh

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

The questions are designed to ensure you understand C# syntax, you won't have a compiler in the exam and you won't know the questions until in the exam.

If you're really stuck while studying you can create a console app in Visual Studio and debug it, but really you should be able to answer the question from first principles just like any math arithmetic problem. For example you do not need a calculator to work out 4+5=9 do you ?