Studying for the A+

Discussion in 'A+' started by Professor-Falken, Nov 30, 2005.

1. Professor-Falken

Professor-Falken Kilobyte Poster

Hi everyone I am studying for A+ Exams using the Mike Meyers book and I am having trouble truly understanding some of the concepts. For instance yesterday after two complete days of study, I finished the chapter on Microprocessors. The problem is I am having trouble understanding some of the more complex ideas. Like Clock speed and mutipliers.

I read in a post that combinbing hands on practice with theory is one good way to really understand a concept or idea. I bought a Pentium III to practice on because it is recent. But I also have a Pentium. Does anyone have any suggestions should I try practicing some of the things that I am learning if so how?
    Should I get th Mike Meyers Lab Manual. I cant think of how to put into practice some of the things that I am learning.

Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks,

Professor Falken

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia Network +
  2. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

IMO, it's difficult to get 'hands on' practise in learning about multipliers and clock speeds. It could be that they way it is being phrased is difficult for you to absorb; not all writing styles work.

Try reading about the subject matter from a different context. I've searched for these for you:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clock_speed
    http://www.helpoverclocking.com/english/jumpers.htm
    http://www.cyberiapc.com/overclocking.htm
    http://whatis.techtarget.com/definition/0,,sid9_gci211799,00.html

Hope this helps!

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, 70-410, 70-411
    WIP: Modern Languages BA
  3. Professor-Falken

Thanks for the help. Those explanations really helped.
    I plan to pickup the Mike Meyers lab manual today at the library to see what it is like. I hope it helps. I read that theory and practice is what really help in understand concepts.