study for a CCNA without work experience??

Discussion in 'General Cisco Certifications' started by demarrer, Dec 7, 2007.

1. demarrer

demarrer Byte Poster

Hi,

I have been looking at becoming CCNA qualified... however as yet I have no previous work experience in an IT environment ( at the moment). Would you guys recommend studying for a CCNA cold or do you honestly need experience before you start with this? Also, by being CCNA qualified is this a good way into getting a first job?

H

Certifications: A+, Security +, CCNA, CCSA
    WIP: music, (dreaming of) CCIE Security :D
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

You should definatley NOT go for the CCNA you should have about a years experience with CISCO kits in a real job before attempting this, the majority of employers will bin your application if you say you have CCNA but no experience.

You should start with compTIA A+ then N+ the MCDST and get real experience before getting any other certs.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

I agree with GBL, however if you really want a Cisco cert, look into Cisco's entry level cert: the CCENT, after the Network+ :)

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. demarrer

demarrer Byte Poster

Cheers thanks for this information. There is just so much info out there ist a little hard to know where to start.
    Would you know how long it would take to become compTIA A+ then N+ certified?

Cheers:)

Certifications: A+, Security +, CCNA, CCSA
    WIP: music, (dreaming of) CCIE Security :D
  5. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster