Study Advice

Discussion in 'A+' started by Rosie1, Dec 11, 2006.

1. Rosie1

Rosie1 Byte Poster

Hi,

I've been studying for A+ 2003 for about 9 months now using the Thomson A+ Guide and using Transcender and MeasureUp for the past couple months. Getting there slowly but surely (prep test passes twix 90%-100%). Come up occasionally with conflicting information which puts doubt into my mind. The Internet offers some help.

Is it worth purchasing another text book, say Mike Meyers as another alternative?

Any advice gratefully appreciated.

Regards,

Rosie

Certifications: A+, CIW foundation
    WIP: CIW Site Designer
  2. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

its always good to have two books for reference, but if you have questions feel free to post them here...

3. Rosie1

Rosie1 Byte Poster

Hi,

Thks. It's great to have somewhere to turn. Are you in position to recommend an alternative text book? I've come across both Mike Meyers or Sybex A+ Guide.

The prep tests are good but I'm wondering if they're comprehensive enough. I'm also trying to use the LabSim software, but time is so limited.

Regards conflict, I've come across the Laser printing process as having the 'cleaning' first and I've also had the 'cleaning' as the last. Do models differ?

Thanks again.

Regards,

Rosie

4. Mr.Cheeks

As far as I am aware its Cleaning First.

Clean - Charge - Write to Drum - Apply Developer - Transfer - Fusing

-

Can Charlie Write And Talk French

in regards, to an alternate books, as you have a main book, have you considered MM's Passport or even our own Trip's book

But then im not sure how indepth is the Thompson's book is on the A+ syllabus

5. Rosie1

Rosie1 Byte Poster

Hi,

That's great. Thks so much.

The Thomson book is a tome and appears very comprehensive, and maps to the 2003 exams (2006+ out now). Of course, until the exam is taken it's hard to tell if it's completely appropriate.