Starting out in I.T at age 30

Discussion in 'A+' started by ade_b, Jan 1, 2014.

1. ade_b

ade_b Bit Poster

Hello everyone, I have joined this forum aa I have just recently started some home study with the aim to become Comptia a+ certified. I have been working through a huge book of over 1000 pages but I really wanted to pose the question, it is worth me getting this certification? The reason I ask is that my background is in the automotive industry in customer service, parts and service departments I am hoping to change career as I am good with computers and I enjoy working with them I am actually Interested in computers with is more than I can say for the motor trade, do I go for the a+ the the network + then try and get a job that pays £18k+ or is there a better route? The most annoying thing about my current position is that I am well paid, I do appreciate however that I will need to take a pay cut but I really cannot afford to drop to less than 18k a year as I have kids and a mortgage, any assistance would be appreciated as I just want to make sure I am. Going about things the right way.

Many thanks in advance

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

The customer service skills you have can be a big help in an entry level IT Support job as you will more than likely have to deal with users either over the phone or face to face when resolving their IT issues.

Would definitely go for A+, Network+ and perhaps a Microsoft desktop cert as well.

As for pay try and aim as close to the £18k mark as you can but if a job comes up at £16k (just an example) then go for it. If you think long term you could be earning more than if you stay in your current job.

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. zxspectrum

zxspectrum Terabyte Poster Forum Leader Gold Member

Hey Ade.