Starting 70-270

Discussion in 'Windows 7 / 8 /10 Client Exams' started by Jay_7, Sep 30, 2008.

1. Jay_7

Jay_7 Nibble Poster

Hi all,

I know I said I'd be resting for a couple of weeks before starting on the MCSA/MCSE track but I couldn't resist having a peek at the Microsoft book for this exam. Before I knew what I was doing, a peek has resulted into having just finished chapter 5.

I have been using XP Pro since 2003 and have been supporting users of the O/S for about 2 years. (I'm currently the only IT guy in a company of 40 employee's with a combination of XP Pro and Vista Business on a SBS 2K3 controlled domain). Anyway, the purpose of this thread is to ask a question I'm sure you've all been asked before at some point - and I realise everyones preparations are different! But realisticly, how long should someone like myself spend studying before attempting the exam? Like I mentioned before, I will be using the Microsoft Training kit and thanks to that Preplogic sale, have purchased the practice exams and audio lectures.

I thank you all in advance...

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP
    WIP: CCNA 200-120
  2. Qs

Qs Semi-Honorary Member Gold Member

Unfortunately this is one of those questions to which there is no definitive answer - it's entirely dependant on you and how you learn.

The best advice I can give is read, take notes and re-read until you feel confident enough.

Take practice tests and if you score well on these mock exams then that should give you an accurate representation of the areas you're particularly weak on. Once you know these you'll know which areas require further attention/additional reading.

Hope this helps.

Qs

Certifications: MCT, MCSE: Private Cloud, MCSA (2008), MCITP: EA, MCITP: SA, MCSE: 2003, MCSA: 2003, MCITP: EDA7, MCITP: EDST7, MCITP: EST Vista, MCTS: Exh 2010, MCTS:ServerVirt, MCTS: SCCM07 & SCCM2012, MCTS: SCOM07, MCTS: Win7Conf, MCTS: VistaConf, MCDST, MCP, MBCS, HND: Applied IT, ITIL v3: Foundation, CCA
  3. Jay_7