Sql 2005 questions

Discussion in 'SQL Exams' started by dales, Apr 7, 2009.

1. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

Hi all,

I've now decided to have a pop at the 70-431, whilst I have very little experience of sql we use it at work so the ability to be able to know what im looking at when trying to sort out a sql server would be of great help.

A couple of questions spring to mind, firstly does anyone know of a quick way (preferably free) for creating a front end to a sql database. (dont worry about this one just discovered you can use access as a front end.)

Also can anybody recommend any good sql books (2k5 versions) already have the osborne mgarth one.

Certifications: vExpert 2014+2015+2016,VCP-DT,CCE-V, CCE-AD, CCP-AD, CCEE, CCAA XenApp, CCA Netscaler, XenApp 6.5, XenDesktop 5 & Xenserver 6,VCP3+5,VTSP,MCSA MCDST MCP A+ ITIL F
    WIP: Nothing
  2. zardoz

zardoz Bit Poster

Hi
    I would recommend the Sybex book for the 70-431 exam I used it and passed. You may struggle a bit having no SQL experience though - reading up on general SQL first might be a better idea.
    SQL is basically the same across SQL Server, Oracle etc, although there are some differences. The key thing before starting the 70-431 exam study would be to understand selects with left/right joins and GROUP BY/HAVING, inserts, updates and deletes, and also specific to SQL Server stored procedures and functions.

Certifications: MCITP Sql Server 2005 (Developer)
    WIP: MCTS .Net
  3. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  4. dmarsh
    Honorary Member 500 Likes Award

dmarsh Petabyte Poster

Oracle has PL/SQL and SQL Server has T-SQL, they both include functions and stored procedures but the syntax differs more significantly than in other areas as these areas are not covered by the ANSI SQL-92 standard.