Spon...signing on

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by spon, Jun 22, 2004.

1. spon

spon New Member

Hi there everyone,

My name is Ian and I live in the UK near Gatwick Airport. :tongue I've been a technical assistant for the last 10 years using Unix and MS software with secondments here and there as an IT helpdesk technician also helping with server admin and system backups. I've been a computer hobbyist since ZX81 days, building, upgrading and setting up computers, setting up small networks and been the usual contact for family and friends for IT issues/maintenance.

I'm 29 and whilst my job used to be a way to get money to do things after work, I have matured a little to understand that my work life is important to me to as well as perhaps is a more secure financial future (have you seen the house prices these days!). Anyway, I decided that there is no reason why my hobby couldn't be my job and that in fact I missed working in the IT environment.

So my plan over the next few years is to consolidate my experience and hobby skills with the A+ certification then perhaps the Network+. With those and my work experience, I hope to move into a good helpdesk/IT admin job as I believe on the job training is invaluable to myself and to potential employers, then move towards MCSE or CCNA as my interest lies more towards hardware and servers than software.

Luckily I am able to get financial help from my employer for the training costs and of course being employed full-time keeps the bills paid. Study wise I shamefully lack the discipline to self-study for months on end, preferring instead the classroom environment, and luckily my local college is running evening classes for 36 weeks for the A+ certification.