Specific advice on courses/providers please!

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by bertles86, May 4, 2011.

1. bertles86

bertles86 Bit Poster

Hi folks,

So I want to get a Networking qualification and am tossing up between CCNA and Comptia Network+.

I have a degree in Software Development and some background hands-on experience in residential networking (routers/switches/AP's/repeaters/Wi-Fi etc.). But am by no means a network professional and stumble when comes to Subnets and into the darker arts of networking!

My understanding is that the CompTIA is a starter course and the CCNA more advanced. So from my brief description above, which is the better route for me?

Being in London, with posts on here and Googling it I have come up with:

Training Provider: commsupport.co.uk
    Exam Centre: Arrow ECS UK, nr Liverpool St

Are these both reputable and backed up with good reviews on here?

Any advice would be great!

Certifications: BSc & MSc
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

The ccna is a cert designed to backup someones experience of working with cisco Kit not for someone who wants to work in networking, thats what network+ is for.

There are certs for people who want to work in IT and certs for people who already work in IT and depending on the cert they are specific to a certain technology.

Certs such as MCSA,MCSE and CCNA or fo rpeople who already work in IT having such certs without the required experience can go against you when looking for jobs.

As for providers I have never used one I find there is no need because I self study using the books and required material and take the exams when I want not when a course deems I am ready. Biggest advantage of self study is cost. For the price some providers charge for say the A+ or N+ you can do the A+,N+ and MCDST and possibly more plus buy all the books.

Some providers dont even provide the exams.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270