Sort of RIS based Question.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 / 8 /10 Client Exams' started by Luddym, Dec 17, 2005.

1. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

Im studying for my 20-270 (again) and had a wonderance really.

RIS is starting to make a little sense to me, but the book im reading suggests that you can make a cloned image of a system after you have installed all the applications you want to and then copy it to a CD to distribute it to other pc's using this instead.

For the life of me, I cannot see how? Is this actually possible to us normal folk?

Many thanks in advance chaps.

Certifications: VCP,A+, N+, MCSA, MCSE
    WIP: Christmas Drunkard
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

I think that what your book is refering to is using a third part app. like Ghost to clone the system and save the image to a CD.

As far as I know you can't do things like that using just the tools built into Windows.

8)

3. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

yip you cant... MS says you must use a third party tool eg Norton Ghost to clone the disk BUT the system must have the same hardware..EXACTLY the same! :biggrin

this is done using sysprep... now for RIS you need a client network adapter that can handle PXE and a server that has the RIS service installed as well as DHCP running...the RIS is just an image of xp and nothing else..

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  4. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

So .. . If i used Norton Ghost, I could put an image of a System (If it were going to be rolled out to a lot of indentical pc's) on the RIS server? So, in theory, a cloned imagine of a PC would be copied to many pc's using RIS. Obviously as long as i have the DHCP, etc etc installed.

Would it be possible to then copy the imagine on the server to a CD, possibly using Norton Ghost, so it would do the same as it would if booted to the RIS server Via the PXE NIC?

5. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster