Should I move teams?

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by NightWalker, May 8, 2008.

1. NightWalker

NightWalker Gigabyte Poster

I need a bit of advice, not sure what to do. I have been working for my current employer for just over a year. I am in the second line support team. My job is second line support of the servers and client PCs. I am an Exchange admin and also get involved in project work to test and roll out new applications alongside my daily duties, which are quite varied. I really enjoy the work, and am doing very well. The other guys on the team are really good; I have got to know them quite well over the last year. Before this job I worked first line support in a tech call centre, this is my first proper IT job. I have learnt so much and gained a lot of experience, and am happy to continue as I am, but....

A position has come up in the security admin team. These guys look after user accounts, AD group policy, NTFS permissions, some mainframe stuff (yep, we have a mainframe, and it’s just a big black box of mystery...) and all things security related (except the ISA severs and firewalls, that’s the networks team). The job is initially for 6 months, but may be longer. Now I think this would be good experience and give me visibility and hands on experience of different aspects of the network.

My long term plan is to pack up and move abroad in a few years and continue working in IT. So I should probably apply and get all the experience I can while the opportunity is there. But I don’t want to leave my current team. Dilemma.

There is no guarantee I would get the job if I apply, even though it’s an internal vacancy I still have to go through an application and interview process. Your thoughts....

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCP, MCSA:M 2003, ITIL v3 Foundation
  2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

With it being short term you may be giving yourself a rope to hang yourself with.