Should I move on from my current role?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by aushus, Mar 12, 2013.

1. aushus

aushus Kilobyte Poster

Hello Guys,

Let me start by saying I work as a senior infrastructure engineer at a small managed service provider (25 staff)

When I first start I have being so busy and I have being working on some really intersting projects,

however lately there is alot of down time and I have being ended up doing more desktop support work like going to client site to install pc and restore data on it etc.

I was doing alot of FIM and ADFS implementation to integrate customers infrastructure with the cloud, but more and more people do not want adfs for single sign on as they are fine with having two passwords and deploying FIM isn't that hard so the client IT teams decide to do it them selfs than use our service. Due to this I do not have much work and it keeps dieing and dieing,

it is so hard to believe that when I first started not long ago that I was so busy

should I move on? because I am sure if I don't they will make me resign.

2. ade1982

ade1982 Megabyte Poster

I think you have answered your own question.

If you can see work dying off, and you have an idea that this might lead to redundancy, you could either wait until work picks up from the next fad that comes along that causes some exciting work, wait until you are made redundant and take redundancy pay, or move on now.

Either that, or use the time wisely and get some exams under your belt, potentially for things you don't do at the moment.

3. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

If you feel like they're going to make you resign, then I would definitely consider other options... Last thing you want is to be in a place where there absolutely no progression and the possibility of losing a job (you never know).