SETTING UP A WIRELESS NETWORK?

Discussion in 'Wireless' started by UCHEEKYMONKEY, Sep 30, 2007.

1. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

SETTING UP A WIRELESS NETWORK?

I have been asked by a friend to help setup a wireless network, I have no practical experience in wireless networking, but have set up a LAN and USB broad band network. So my knowledge on wireless is very limited!!:(

So, my friend is on Broadband ADSL and uses a USB Speed touch Modem which is connect to a BT land line through an ADSL Filter. He wants to Connect 3 PC’s to the wireless network!

He has bought this from PC world and wants to connect 3 PCS in the house to the wireless network:-
    http://www.pcworld.co.uk/martprd/product/seo/103735
    The first PC has Windows XP SP2 with Zone Alarm firewall; it has onboard modem for dialup and LAN card but no wireless card.
    The second PC a Laptop upstairs has a wireless 802.11g card but runs on Windows Vista and uses vista firewall only!
    The Third PC downstairs is a shuttle that runs on Windows XP Media centre has wireless and wired card and standard XP firewall.
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/mediacenter/default.mspx
    Looking at the back of the router it has 4 CAT5e (RJ45) connections but no USB port. So I can connect USB modem to it. There is a RJ11 port which can be connected to the ADSL filter.
    If you look at the link (PC World) you will notice it states the router has a double fire wall?

Q) Will this double firewall conflict with a software firewall and would I need to uninstall the software fireWALL?

Q) Also there are 4 wireless networks that I can see on the laptop 1 has the same router device has the one he has bought, will this conflict with his device/network??