Server/Sys admin/networking skills needed!

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by idkfa, Jan 14, 2012.

1. idkfa

idkfa New Member

Hi all, hopefully someone can help. Ive been working as a DST for about 3 years and have my MCDST passed. I have changed jobs recently and now have a more network/sys admin role as well. I want to improve my network and sys admin skills but want to make sure what I study is 100% relevant to progress me further. I get frustrated at the moment with my lack of knowledge of even basic server stuff (DNS, DHCP, Exchange, AD etc) which is why I want to start studying.

The MCSA looked ideal, relevant, achievable, not too long, but it looks like that has changed to a new structure with server 2008. What do you think are the best options for me? Is MS the right way to go and if so what do I study? Is Cisco or A+ worth doing as well/instead of?

I don't understand the MCITP cert which seems like the replacement for MCSA, can I just take this in Windows Server (11 exams!) and get the certification? The problem with this though is that it looks a lot less relevant than the old MCSA and I'm fed up with learning things just for the sake of learning. Any input on this would be great.

No decisions made yet so am open to suggestions on what would be the best course(s) to take.

Sorry for the rant!

2. onoski

onoski Terabyte Poster

Hello and welcome to CF:), well you have answered your own question as the MCITP cert is what replaced the MCSA and the higher level being MCITP EA. The MCITP EA - enterprise administrator or architect.