Server 2008 R2 Static IP Issue

Discussion in 'Virtual and Cloud Computing' started by camadi46, Jul 21, 2011.

1. camadi46

camadi46 Bit Poster

Hi everyone,
    First of all, I am new to servers but I obviously want to improve.
    I installed Server 2008 R2 on VM Virtual Box, create a domain, installed DHCP, DNS, configured the server. When I set a static IP I don't have any internet access.
    I looked on the status page of my router and the DHCP on the router assigns IPs from 192.168.1.64 to 192.168.1.253, Default Gateway is 192.168.1.254, DNS is 194.72.9.34 and 62.6.40.178. I tried assigning an IP address outside the router's DHCP range but no luck.
    ipconfig /all on the server with "Obtain IP automatically" and "Obtain DNS automatically" comes up with: 10.0.2.15 (Preferred), Subnet 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway and DHCP server 10.0.2.2 and DNS 192.168.1.254,.
    What static IP address, Default Gateway and DNS should I use in order to have internet access and be able to make other virtual PCs part of the domain?
    Thank you very much.

Certifications: A+, MCP
    WIP: 70-680
  2. DC Pr0Mo

DC Pr0Mo Kilobyte Poster

I've never used Virtual Box, but I assume it is the same as Virtual PC, first off your server needs to be on the same network as your routers lan 192.168.1.0/24, and default gateway should point to your router 192.168.1.254/24, you said you setup DHCP on the server, is the range 10.0.2.0/24 ?

Also you may need to associate your virtual network adapter to your PC/laptops network card/wireless card. I would uninstall DHCP on your server, and set the server nic card to DHCP (This is not advised in the sense that a server should have a static ip, but you can change that later) This will confirm you virual adapter is associated with your pc/laptops nic card and will also confirm you are getting the correct ip configuration from your DHCP/Router.

**EDIT**

Point the servers dns IP to itself 127.0.0.1, and set a forwarder to your router.