self taught vs training provider

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by superkarimo, Sep 5, 2005.

1. superkarimo

superkarimo Bit Poster

From an employers point of view what is better, a person who has taught themselves through buying/using free cheap resources or someone using a credible training provider at higher cost?

I am interested in pursuing training in IT particularly programming and website design but feel most courses with training providers are too expensive. Is the self taught route credible and realistic?

BTW having read the latest issue of .Net magazine where 1 design company manager says he would only take on university graduates in a design role, is lack of a degree a big drawback?

Certifications: City & Guilds diplomas in C,C++ and VB
    WIP: ???
  2. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

hi and welcome to CF!!

When you go for a job the employer wont know if you got the cert yourself or through a company...The resources you use for self-study more than often end up being better value for money than the ones at training providers ... self-study is very possible and im sure guys will be along to help you out more in your programming and web design questions! :biggrin

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  3. superkarimo

superkarimo Bit Poster

thanks for your reply zimbo.

I think i should clarify that I meant self taught as in learning programming or website design but not taking certification exams. The idea would be to learn and create my own portfolio of work both on and offline. In essence I'd have some sort of proof of learning/experience but not a certificate. I have never seen any job advertised locally specifically asking for any certificates but have fallen at the first post because I have no examples of what I can do. My one concern of teaching myself is that the level/standard of work would not be high enough to gain entry into a job this way.