Self study Vs Training Co's Vs College

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Shazz, Nov 21, 2009.

1. Shazz

Shazz Bit Poster

Oh Hi!

Basically, I finally know what I want to do with my life. Technical IT (god help the end user). As such, I'm looking at taking A+, MCDST, CCNA, MCSE (I await amusing replies here) to try and get the ball rolling due to the fact despite having experience/knowledge but no quali's my job applications are getting nowhere. That and I graduated in late May and have had little success finding a job.

As a result, I've looked at both routes, but I'm unsure of which to do...

The options I have are;

Self Study: Whilst cost effective, unsure how this would look on a CV?
    Training Co's: £££, but there’s a "few" decent ones, who make lots of "claims" (go sales go!). But it's basically the same as self study, apart from 1-2 days a month. But for a lot more £
    College: Much the same as self study, but there seems to be a distinct lack of places covering the courses in evenings locally...

Answers on a post card, or the reply button! ;) Any advice is appreciated, as I'm rather unsure of the route to take right now!

Cheers ;D

Certifications: BA (Hons),
    WIP: MCDST, A+, N+
  2. UKDarkstar
    Honorary Member

UKDarkstar Terabyte Poster

Self study makes no difference to your CV - you just list the cert and that's it.

Some aren't disciplined enough or need the contact with others to feed off of but most here will advocate self study for cost reasons.

Certifications: BA (Hons), MBCS, CITP, MInstLM, ITIL v3 Fdn, PTLLS, CELTA
    WIP: CMALT (about to submit), DTLLS (on hold until 2012)
  3. Shazz

Shazz Bit Poster

Sounds fair, cheers for the heads up!
    Having looked at my local college a 10 week evening course for A+ essentials + 602 comes to just shy of £500 including exam costs.

Personally, I think i'd still need the bit of informal training on the site. but really still need to decide!

4. cisco lab rat