seeking advice...

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Hot beans, Jun 5, 2012.

1. Hot beans

Hot beans New Member

Hello All,

I'm fairly new to the world of IT and am seeking some advice. First, is it worthless to go after a higher level (MCITP or CCNA) cert without experience?

I’m in dire need of a new job. For 2 months, I’ve been applying for entry level jobs (helpdesk and tech support) but have yet landed any interviews. That reason could be lack of experience or my resume. My guess is lack of experience.

I just received my CompTIA A+ cert and am uncertain if I should go the Net+ or CCENT route. My main objective is to land interviews and find a job, but my ultimate goal is to obtain a Net Admin position. I guess in a nutshell what I’m also asking is which cert would be more appealing for an entry-level position such as tech support or helpdesk?

Last edited: Jun 5, 2012
  2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Welcome to CF!

You're doing well by getting the A+, that's a good way to start. Network+ would also be a nice certification to get. I would hold off on the CCENT/CCNA for now until you get some experience working with Cisco. Another good certification would be 70-680. The idea is you want to have a good base, some hardware, software, network understanding.... as you get experience you can start working more towards a networking role if that's something you enjoy.

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  3. Gunner81

Gunner81 Bit Poster

Welcome to CF!

I think you should look towards Network+. You can then study 70-680 which will also give you MCTS...

Certifications: A+, MCP (70-270)
    WIP: Network+, MCITP
  4. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

Welcome to CF:D

I too recommend the Network+ as your next step.

NB

Certifications: 70-210, 70-215, A+,N+, Security+