Security using MAC addresses

Discussion in 'Wireless' started by ChrisH, Jul 21, 2006.

1. ChrisH

ChrisH Nibble Poster

Just a quick question.

I have a niggly problem where if I playing an online game I get a momentary connection glitch every minute or so which lasts for about 5 seconds.

It came up in conversation with a guy in a shop the other day and he suggested that I do not use any kind of encryption for security and rely on allowing access by MAC addresses instead. The reason being that any kind of encryption needs time to decode/work hence the 5 second delay and that MAC addresses are unique to the network adaptor and that if someone has the knowledge and can be bothered to go through the effort to spoof the address to gain access then encryption would probably be useless.

Any thoughts on that? Makes sense in theory but I'm new to wireless so there's a lot I don't know.

WIP: A+
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

TCP Packets will still need to be sent backwards and forwards when you are playing the game.

As it is an online game I would suggest that you connect with a wire as it will be much faster.

8)

3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

I agree, patch in mate, its way quicker! :biggrin

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  4. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

If you are worried about break-ins then use ethernet, not wireless.

Unless your router/AP is a very poor one I wouldn't expect the glitches to be encryption related, but more possibly interference related.

In any case - try an ethernet connection and see if the glitches are still there. If they are then you have ruled out the WiFi bit, and it will be your ISP or cable.

Edit: Another advantage of using Ethernet is the reduced latency - this helps a *lot* in online games.

Harry.