Security Management

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by oush, Aug 14, 2010.

1. oush

oush Byte Poster

Hi Lads,

As some of you know i'm looking to get into security management but not quite sure where to start. I'll be doing my Msc in Security Management in October. But I would like to plan my certification track at the same time. I have been working in IT for the past 5 years in various engineer roles from sys engineers to voice networks etc. I also currently hold a fair bit of certs: MCSE, MCDBA, MCITP: EA, CCNA, CCDA, CompTIA Linux+

These are the sec management certs which i have found after some research:

CISSP
    GIAC Security Leadership Certification (GSLC)
    Certified Information Security Manager (CISM)
    Certified Authorization Professional (CAP)
    GIAC Legal Issues (GLEG)
    Prince2

You may notice the PRINCE2 and the CISSP in there ;) belive me their needed :) Project management work pays well :P

Now the stepping stone for me would be CompTIA Security+ or GSEC (GIAC Security Essentials Certification). Not sure which one to go with.

Can someone advice me if my plan is any good? I know the basic concepts of security but i sitll think i need to start at the bottom as with everything and work my way up.

Do you think the cert track which i have chosen is feasable or have i missed some excellent management certs??

Thanks

Certifications: MCITP: EA, Linux+, CCNA, CCDA
    WIP: CCIP
  2. Beerbaron

Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

I've seen a few people on here with prince2, what is the purpose of it?

Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  3. Bri1981

Bri1981 Byte Poster

Prince2 is a project management methodology.

Certifications: See signature
    WIP: MBA entry diploma
  4. Mecha

Mecha Bit Poster