Salary

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by NenMaster, Aug 29, 2007.

1. NenMaster

NenMaster Bit Poster

Ive been working at my current Job for about 2 months now, Im on a 3 month probationary period, so in a month ill be interviewed again and will hopefully get a permanent contract.

They said in the interview that after the 3 months I can talk more about a better salary, as it is currently 13k. My job is basically It support, over the phones, face to face and over RDP. What kind of salary should I ask for at the interview? 16k? or be a greedy get and ask for 17k.

Certifications: None
    WIP: A+ Core And OS
  2. Beerbaron

Beerbaron Megabyte Poster

if you dont ask you wont get :biggrin

Certifications: BSc (Hons), MSc, ITIL v3F, MCP, MCDST, MCITP: edst7, MCTS, MCSA: Server 2003, MCSA: Windows 7, N+, NVQ IT lvl 3, MCSA Windows 7, VCP5, CCENT, CEH
    WIP: CISSP
  3. grim

grim Gigabyte Poster

i'd take interview and pay rise with a pinch of salt, every job i've had they haven't been to keen on the pay rise part. only way to find out is ask !

grim

Certifications: Bsc, 70-270, 70-290, 70-291, 70-293, 70-294, 70-298, 70-299, 70-620, 70-649, 70-680
    WIP: 70-646, 70-640
  4. Arroryn

Arroryn we're all dooooooomed Moderator

It depends on what the wage structure at the company is.

Are there other IT support personnel? And do you know what they are on?

I only mention as, moving from 13K to 16K is more than a 20% pay rise - which looks adventurous on paper, though it sounds like a fair wage for what you do.

What are your HR department like? If you suggest 17K, are they the types that will take it badly and expect you to run out of the door if it's a lot more than they were going to offer?

I had my own review just last month - I waited until my manager told me what she wanted to set my wage to. She said 'are you happy with that'. I nearly tore her arm off and ran out the door with it :biggrin but I'm just happy to be working in IT at last :rolleyes: