RIS on a Member Server problem

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by zimbo, Jun 21, 2006.

1. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

This is my first time im putting RIS on a member server and i got all my services working (DNS, DHCP etc) created my images and all and everything passed the test during the installation. DHCP is working and gives IP to my clients that already have XP running.

BUT im trying to install a new client using RIS and the new blank machine wont get an IP.

Domain Controller runs: DNS and DHCP
    Member Server : RIS

These use static IPs. Im using VMWare too. :oops: Now is the problem VMWare or do i need to do something on my member server as the RIS and DHCP are on different servers? Or is it vmware playing tricks? :oops:

Edit: I just install DHCP on the RIS server and it works BUT i dont want it to work like that i want only RIS to run on my member server and DHCP on another... there must be a way.. Thanks for the help in advance!

Certifications: B.Sc, MCDST & MCSA
    WIP: M.Sc - Computer Forensics
  2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

There must be a way, I’ve installed a member server running RIS and a SBS was the main server, DHCP was running on SBS. Will have a look later to see how it is set up 8)

Does this help?
    http://www.windowsitpro.com/Windows/Article/ArticleID/24045/24045.html

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. d-Faktor
    Honorary Member

d-Faktor R.I.P - gone but never forgotten.

did you define dhcp options 60, 66 and 67 on the dhcp server?

4. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster

yeah i tried that one thanks!

@d - err what? :biggrin

EDIT: done some reading on it now but not sure on what i have to do...

5. d-Faktor
    Honorary Member