RIS Boot Disk

Discussion in 'Software' started by mojorisin, Apr 3, 2006.

1. mojorisin

mojorisin Kilobyte Poster

Does anyone know if there is an updated version of the RIS boot disk later than the one that came with server 2003 ?

Why do microsoft issue RIS and then never bother to update the available drivers for it ?:dry

WIP: Microsoft 365 Identity and Services MD-100
  2. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

I'm no RIS expert (tried it a few times without success!) but do you actually need to use the boot disk?

Most NIC's these days are PXE compliant, so you should be able to boot directly from the NIC and attach to the RIS server.

Am gona have to do some reading up on RIS methinks! :ohmy

8)

3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

I’ve set up a test RIS server, some of the on-board NICs on my old lab PCs didn’t work with the PXE boot but worked ok with the boot disc.

According to MS you can’t add drivers with the RBFG.exe utility that makes the boot disc. :blink

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  4. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  5. Luddym

Luddym Megabyte Poster

Nice link Blue,

I think the thing that sticks out in my mind about RIS is that . . . if the NIC isn't PXE reliant, then you have to hope your card is supported by RFBG.exe. If not, you are out of luck.

But . . . laptops cannot ever use RFBG.exe, as the NIC has to be of a PCI bus. So unless the Laptop is PXE compatable, you are out of luck. Same goes for NIC's using ISA. . .

Certifications: VCP,A+, N+, MCSA, MCSE
    WIP: Christmas Drunkard
  6. zimbo
    Honorary Member

zimbo Petabyte Poster