Requirements?

Discussion in 'General CompTIA Certifications' started by SkyHize, Jan 31, 2014.

1. SkyHize

SkyHize New Member

Hello, at the moment i'm studying for the CompTIA A+ certification and i'm planning to do Network+ after but i've read somewhere that to take the Network+ exams it's required to have at least one year worth of experience in the IT field, i'd like to know if this is true and if there's any other requirement to take the exam. Thanks in advance.

2. BraderzTheDog

BraderzTheDog Kilobyte Poster

Afternoon,

If you ask me on the subject I would say you don't need any experience to do either. The reason being these two exams are both entry level, designed to give you an understanding of how computers or networks work. Due to the nature of CompTIA its vendor neutralness aims the certification at the entry level audience.

When I started out in IT (I've been in the industry 4 years now) I worked on A+ and N+ when I had no experience at all, having the comptia certs landed me a service desk job, and if you ask me that's the aim of comptia... To get you onto the ladder.

Once you have A+ or N+ depending on which way you want to go; you should be looking at either the Microsoft material or the Cisco material.

Out of interest what is your position, do you work in IT already or are you trying to break into the market?

Certifications: CCNA R&S, CCNA-SEC, CCSA, JNCIA FWV, MCITP, MCTS, MTA, A+
  3. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

It's more of a recommendation than a requirement :)

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  4. SkyHize

SkyHize New Member

Thanks guys.